Uncategorized

BLOG TOUR: The Truth About Happily Ever After – Excerpt + Giveaway

TheTruthAboutHappilyEverAfterTourBanner.png
Today I’m giving you the chance to read an excerpt of The Truth About Happily Ever After, a book by Karole Cozzo that releases today! There’s also a great giveaway waiting for you at the bottom of the page. This is part of the blog tour organized by Xpresso Book Tours, so you can go over to this page and check out the others’ reviews if you happen to like this! It looks amazing:

truthAboutThe Truth About Happily Ever After

Published by: Swoon Reads

Publication date: May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

 

Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in The Truth About Happily Ever After, a contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real.


This sounds promising! I’ll leave you with the excerpt I was assigned:

<><><>

I’m not really sure what possesses me to step into the boxing room at the gym. I don’t know what the room is really called, but that’s what I call it, the small exercise studio with red matted floors and retractable rows of long, narrow punching bags hanging from the ceiling. Maybe I’m driven by some lingering resentment from my run-in with Harper. Maybe I’ve been listening to too much angry rap music.

Whatever the reason, I find myself walking in, the room empty, its lights still off. My motion activates them, and the space is immediately bathed in bright light. I slowly turn in a circle, taking it all in—the mirrors, all that red and black equipment I’m unfamiliar with, the chains hanging from the ceiling. It feels like I’m in a room designed for torture more than anything else.

But I don’t leave. Because I’m overcome by my desire to punch one of those big bags. Hard.

Taking a quick look over my shoulder to make sure no one’s watching, I stride over to the bag at the end of the row. I curl my hand into a fist, thinking it’ll be just like the movies, satisfying and gratifying and effortless. My hand meets the bag with a dull thud, and I wince, the world ow forming silently on my lips. Yeah, it’s not like that at all. It’s like punching a brick wall, and it hurts. Pain vibrates through my fingers and into my wrist. And the damn thing doesn’t even budge.

I shake my hand out and try again. And again, and again, and again. There’s a burgeoning frustration in my gut that’s fueling my punches, despite the pain, but no matter how hard I hit it, the bag won’t move.

The frustration turns to anger. It’s making me mad, that I have no power or control over this stupid inanimate object, that no matter how hard I try I can’t make anything happen, and before I realize what’s happening, I’ve resorted to wrapping my arms around it, pressing my forehead against the foul-smelling rubber, and pounding the crap out of it in small little bursts from both fists while grunting and cursing.

He has to shout for me to hear him. “What the hell are you doing?”

I spin around, see Miller in the doorway, and lose my balance, collapsing against the bag, which is as unyielding as ever. My chest is heaving uncontrollably, and I bend over in a useless attempt to catch my breath. Eventually I manage to stand up. And make a face at him. “Do you have some sensor that allows you to catch me at my absolute most humiliating moments?” I have to ask.

“Actually,” he says, glancing over his shoulder, “this time it wasn’t just me. You were attracting quite the crowd, because a class is about to start across the hall. I scared them off, though.”

 

<><><>

If you enjoyed this and want to see more, you can click on one of these links and read more about it or buy the book: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Kobo

You can follow the rest of the tour if you’re curious! I encourage you to visit all the wonderful blogs listed below! You can easily get to them by clicking on their name 🙂


Tour Schedule

May 15th
blogs and coffee >> Guest post
Fic Central >> Review
Ammie’s Book Obsession >> Review
Kourtni Reads >> Review
Novels and Necklaces >> Review

May 16th
CBY Book Club >> Excerpt
Maya Hearts Books  >> Excerpt
The Avid Reader >> Interview
Archaeolibrarian – I Dig Good Books! >> Excerpt
Only True Magic >> Review

May 17th
Daydreaming Books >> Review
Rebel Mommy Book Blog  >> Review
Eru Books and Recs >> Review
Writing Pearls >> Review

May 18th
Kindle and Me >> Guest post
Dandelions Inspired >> Review
The Candid Cover  >> Review
Wishful Endings >> Interview
To Be Read >> Review

May 19th
Blushing babes are up all night >> Review
Twirling Book Princess >> Excerpt
Girl vs Books >> Review
Feed Your Fiction Addiction >> Review


You can win a print copy of The Truth About Happily Ever After by clicking anywhere on this paragraph! This will take you to Rafflecopter. Good luck everyone 🙂

4 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: The Truth About Happily Ever After – Excerpt + Giveaway”

Leave a Reply

