Uncategorized

BLOG TOUR: Meg & Linus – Excerpt + Giveaway

MegAndLinusTourBanner-1.png
Today I’m giving you the chance to read an excerpt of Meg and Linus, a book by Hannah Nowinski that released just two days ago, on April 18th. There’s also a great giveaway waiting for you at the bottom of the page. This is part of the blog tour organized by Xpresso Book Tours, so you can go over to this page and check out the others’ reviews if you happen to like this! It looks amazing:

26176756Meg and Linus by Hannah Nowinski

Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: April 18th 2017 Genres: Contemporary, LGBTQ+, Young Adult

Can friendship, Star Trek, drama club, and a whole lot of coffee get two nerdy best friends through the beginning of their senior year of high school?

Meg and Linus are best friends bound by a shared love of school, a coffee obsession, and being queer. It’s not always easy to be the nerdy lesbian or gay kid in a suburban town. But they have each other. And a few Star Trek boxed sets. They’re pretty happy.

But then Sophia, Meg’s longtime girlfriend, breaks up with Meg. Linus starts tutoring the totally dreamy new kid, Danny—and Meg thinks setting them up is the perfect project to distract herself from her own heartbreak. But Linus isn’t so sure Danny even likes guys, and maybe Sophia isn’t quite as out of the picture as Meg thought she was. . . .

From crowdsourced young adult imprint Swoon Reads comes Meg & Linus by Hanna Nowinski, a fun friendship story about two quirky teens who must learn to get out of their comfort zones and take risks—even if that means joining the drama club, making new friends, and learning how to stand on your own.


Sounds great, right? I bet you’re intrigued. I’ll leave you with the excerpt I was assigned:

<><><>

When I sit down, she looks up from the book she has propped open against a pile of other books and frowns at me, hand pushing at an errant lock of red hair that has escaped from her ponytail. “You’re late!”

I shrug. “Sorry. Had to stop by my locker.”

It’s not exactly the entire truth. Well, I did have to go by my locker to get rid of my disgustingly heavy physics book. But I would have been here faster if I hadn’t spent an extra few minutes pretending to sort through some papers while I was really very secretly watching Danny talking to someone a few lockers down. He is just so cute when he talks, waving his hands around wildly when he gets excited about something.

“I’m sorry,” she says, and sighs. “I didn’t mean to be rude or anything. I guess I just have separation anxiety after—you know.”

I smile and try to look as reassuring as I can manage. “You know I wouldn’t leave you without a heartfelt text message consisting of at least one hundred characters and a really vague emoticon.”

She puts a hand over her heart. “Stop it, you’re too good to me! You’re going to make me cry!”

“Maybe I would even slip a note in your locker.”

“As long as you didn’t write me a poem.”

“Not even if it’s a really moving one about the power of friendship and the optimistically idealistic message that no matter where we are in the world, we’ll always totally be besties for life, exclamation point, smiley face, less-than-three?”

She laughs. “Especially not if it’s anything like that.”

I sigh deeply and shake my head at her. “Your strange aversion to poetry is really baffling. What happened to you as a kid that makes you reject beautiful, emotional word imagery?”

She rolls her eyes at me and kicks me under the table. “Shut your face and eat your lunch before it gets cold.”

“I’ll actually have to open my face for that, though,” I point out.

“Besides, I am not categorically against poetry per se,” she tells me. “I just like it better when it’s set to music.”

I nod. “That’s what we call a ‘song’ among experts.”

“Smarty- pants.”

“I’m just trying to help!”

“By the way,” she says, “have you given any thoughts to your extracurriculars for this year? Because I thought we could maybe sign up for something together.”

“I like that idea.” I take a sip of my soda and consider all the clubs at this school, and then I catch a glimpse of familiar spiky black hair a few tables over, right in the middle of the usual drama club crowd, and I can’t control the way my face heats up. It just makes me wish I was a little less fair-skinned so that not everyone could see me blush all the time. “I was thinking of maybe trying something new this year,” I blurt out before I can stop myself.

Meg squints at me and I know she can see the way my face has turned red. I’m just hoping she’ll let it go.

“New?” she asks. “Like what, for example? Drama club?”

I pretend to think about it, even though that was exactly what I was going to suggest. She must have seen me glancing over at the drama club lunch table just now. I nod slowly so that I won’t seem too excited about this. “Yeah, why not? That could be interesting.”

<><><>

If you enjoyed this and want to see more, you can click on one of these links and read more about it or buy the book: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Kobo

You can follow the rest of the tour if you’re curious! I encourage you to visit all the wonderful blogs listed below! You can easily get to them by clicking on their name 🙂


Tour Schedule

April 17th
Happily Ever Chapter >> Review
Brooke Blogs >> Excerpt
Girl vs Books >> Excerpt
Book Stacks Amber >> Interview
Mama Reads Blog >> Review

April 18th
The Cover Contessa >> Guest post
With Love for Books >> Review
The Bibliophile Confessions >> Review
Tales of the Ravenous Reader >> Interview

April 19th
YA Lit Reads >> Review
CaperReads >> Review
A Dream Within A Dream >> Excerpt
, –books are love >> Review

April 20th
Quite The Novel Idea >> Review
The Avid Reader >> Excerpt
Arctic Books >> Interview
The Book Adventures of Annelise Lestrange >> Review
Maya Hearts Books  >> Excerpt

April 21st
To Be Read >> Review
Books Direct >> Review
Brittany’s Book Rambles  >> Guest post
Eru Books and Recs  >> Review


And now for the giveaway! If you live in the US or in Canada, you can win a print copy of Meg and Linus, and all you need to do is join on Rafflecopter! This whole paragraph is a link 😉

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: Meg & Linus – Excerpt + Giveaway”

Leave a Reply

