Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Books I Felt Betrayed By

Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.

Hello everyone! Today for Top 5 Wednesday we’re discussing books we felt betrayed by… Join us at the T5W Goodreads group! It’s a very fun weekly meme.

Let’s get on with it… Oh, and if you click on the title of the book, it’ll take you to my review! There’s only a review available for the titles in salmon – I’m warning you because I don’t want to see you click on one of the titles and think I’ve lied to you haha.

1. Three Dark Crowns30240773

It’s the first book that comes to mind. Look at it! It’s so gorgeous! The premise was so interesting! But the book just wasn’t for me, which sucks, because I hoped to love it.

Of course, a lot of people loved Three Dark Crowns, so it’s probably just me and my incredibly picky taste. I’m still reading the next book so obviously I didn’t dislike it that much, haha.

No one really wishes to be a queen.

WHY WOULD THEY. QUEENS ARE MURDERED BY THEIR SISTERS.


2. Allegiantallegiant

This book. Ooh my god, this book. I feel like the books in this series got gradually worse, and I remember almost leaving this book at DNF before I knew I could do that (a couple years ago I would have cried at the thought of not finishing one of my dear books).

I had so many hopes put in this book. It was like getting stabbed by my friends. I get you now, Julius.

I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.

Well it didn’t, after Divergent the flame died out.


184603923. All The Bright Places

The description told me I would love this book. WHY DOES GOODREADS LIE TO ME.

I kind of did love it, though, until I was about halfway in. Then it all just plummeted and it made me super sad, because I was so into the book! Then I realized I didn’t like Violet as a character and the book felt designed specifically to make you weep and I don’t like that kind of book. Sorry.

We do not remember days, we remember moments.

I remember the exact moment I realized I disliked this book, but I can’t say it here because it’s a spoiler…


4. Heir of Fire20617636

I loved Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight, but the moment Rowan Whitethorn was introduced, I lost interest. I only kept on reading because of our Lord and Saviour Dorian Havilliard and his sidekick (don’t tell him I said that) Chaol Westfall, and of course the beauty that is Aedion Ashryver…

Focus, Maya.

Of course, I got back on the ToG train after reading Queen of Shadows, but this book was a total disappointment. I gave it three stars. I gave a Sarah J. Maas book THREE stars.

I claim you, Rowan Whitethorn. I don’t care what you say and how much you protest. I claim you as my friend.

Yeah, sure. “Friend”. WHY IS EVERYONE IN LOVE WITH AELIN.


77353335. Matched

This was a book I was hoping to love, and one of the first books in English I bought. I thought it was just the new language, but I reread it a couple months ago and that wasn’t it. I just didn’t like it, it was sort of slow, and I didn’t feel like I could read another two books about Cassia.

This is probably the book I liked the most out of the ones on this list, but it still really wasn’t for me, sorry.

It is strange how we hold on to the pieces of the past while we wait for our futures.

Even though I don’t like it, I still read this book from time to time because it sort of brings back good memories? I don’t know. I have a love-hate relationship with it.


I hope you liked this post! Have you ever participated in T5W? What do you think of the choices I made today? Let’s talk?

7 thoughts on “T5W: Books I Felt Betrayed By”

  1. Aww it’s too bad you didn’t like Three Dark Crowns. 😦 OK I’M READY TO RANT! LET’S RANT MAYA! ROWAN WHITEHORN AS A FRIEND WAS THE BIGGEST LIE I’VE EVER SEEN WRITTEN IN A BOOK! He was so boring and flat in Queen of Shadows, I cringed every time he had to regain control of his hormones. Honestly, why does everyone have to fall in love with Aelin?! She is not even that great! My poor Chaol painted as the bad guy really irked me and Dorian, oh Dorian. I still haven’t read Empire of Storms but now I kind of have to because of Chaol’s novel. So I’ll have a puke bag next to while for when I read all of THOSE scenes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I LOVE RANTING ABOUT ROWAN. Ahhh wait till you get to “velvet wrapped steel”. Rowan’s insufferable most of the time, but the book is entertaining as a whole. It’s way too heterosexual but that’s SJM for you.

      And Dorian and Chaol? They’re my faves, but she paints such caricatures of them. Instead of complex, brilliant Dorian we get this hormone-driven f*ckboy (I’ll mail you that puke bag, you’ll need it). Chaol is amazing because he’s human and he’s loyal and he has such interesting character traits, but we’re supposed to hate him just because Aelin sort of kind of does?

      I cannot WAIT for Chaol’s novel. I really hope it will be good representation of PWD and we’ll see a lot of NESRYN! Ahh I’m so excited… I’ll actually be in Canada around the time of the release so I’ll get my hands on a copy real quick!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. OMG!!! I NEED THAT PUKE BAG NOW! Dorian has always been sweet and caring in my eyes, especially towards Sorscha *cries* If anyone is a hormone driven f*boy, it’s Rowan. *you know why!* And Chaol is my husband, nothing can make me hate him tbh. YAY! I cannot wait for more Nesryn!! Oh it’s so cool you are coming to Canada!! Which city? HAHA WHEN HIS NOVEL COMES OUT I’M FRAMING IT AND PUTTING IT UP NEXT TO MY SIGNED COPY OF CROWN OF MIDNIGHT!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Totally agree on the Rowan thing! I love Chaol so so so much 😊😍

        Oh, and the city isn’t settled yet – it’s somewhat of a school immersion program and we’re still working on the details! I’m going somewhere near Toronto or Ottawa. I’m very excited! Canada sounds like a great place 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

