Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Faves in SciFi and Fantasy

Hello everyone! This week for Top 5 Wednesday (join us at the Goodreads group) we’re talking about SciFi and Fantasy books, because apparently there are some booktube awards going on?

In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

Yeah, this is kind of a crossover topic, so I’ll be sure to check out those Booktube Awards to see what they’re about. Here are my choices for this week! You can click on the titles and be taken to my reviews.

234371561. Six of Crows (fantasy)

This book and its sequel, Crooked Kingdom, became instant favorites the moment I was done with them. There are just so many amazing characters, and the writing is so beautiful and enjoyable… I loved it.

No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.’


135193972. Throne of Glass (fantasy)

It’s become somewhat problematic, but there’s something about the Throne of Glass series that’s just captivating and grasps the reader’s attention. We’re six books in and it doesn’t seem like it’s been that long since the start.

“You could rattle the stars,” she whispered. “You could do anything, if only you dared. And deep down, you know it, too. That’s what scares you most.”


277747583. An Ember in the Ashes (fantasy)

This is a debut novel, guys. Sabaa Tahir had never published anything before this book. And it’s one of my favorite books ever: the writing, the plot, the characters are so well crafted, reading this book pulled at my heartstrings and left me craving for the next book in the series, which did not disappoint either.

“Life is made of so many moments that mean nothing. Then one day, a single moment comes along to define every second that comes after. Such moments are tests of courage, of strength.”


161011284. The 5th Wave (SciFi)

Some would argue with me for calling this book Science Fiction, but while the first book doesn’t meet all the requirements, I feel like the second and third books do, so including this book and its series in this list was a must for me. I fell in love with The Fifth Wave when I was younger and when I finished the series last year I realised that young Maya was right and these books were amazing.

We’re here, and then we’re gone, and it’s not about the time we’re here, but what we do with the time.


312443545. The Thousandth Floor (SciFi)

I’m starting to realize I don’t read as much SciFi as I think I do, because as I was looking for books to put here I only found dystopian fiction. The Thousandth Floor, however, is a book I would put under SciFi! It’s also kind of chick-lit, but when I read it recently I was in awe reading about the beautiful world the writer imagines will exist in a hundred years.

Up here on the roof, so close to the stars, she felt young and alive and hateful.


Hope you liked this T5W post! What did you think of my choices? Have you done a similar post today? Let’s talk!

14 thoughts on “T5W: Faves in SciFi and Fantasy”

    1. Thank you very much! ToG is actually a very good series writing and plot wise, but people have been criticising the diversity and Rowaelin as a ship… I don’t really know where I stand on this, what about you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i feel like the series has waaaaaaay more than just Rowaelin. it escalated from only focusing on Aelin a very long time ago. i can’t say i like them very much but there are more ships and more characters who deserve as much attention. as for diversity, i’m all in!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I don’t particularly like Rowaelin but I have nothing against them except for the age gap which is kind of weird. There are better ships out there like Lysaedion or Malide.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know, I’ve heard it’s because they think he was abusive while he was training her. I don’t know, for me it’s something else… I don’t like Aelin as much as I liked Celaena, maybe that’s it?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

