Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favorite Polarizing Books

n-the-longest-amount-of-time-that-love-can-actually-promiseHi! Yet another Wednesday, I’m participating in the Top 5 Wednesday meme, hosted at this Goodreads group every week! You should definitely come join us.

Today – January 18th – we’re talking about polarizing books. You know, those books people just seem to really love:

love

Ooooor they just look at it and go:

tumblr_n4jf19awpx1tw1vhco1_500

These are going to be really popular books because I’m pretty sure that the ones that cause more division are the ones most discussed. Here we go!

1. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

cathcerPersonally I love this book! It’s a classic coming-of-age book that I think every bookworm should read. I tried reading it once when I was about 12 and didn’t even have a good grasp of the English language, and that didn’t go very well, but I reread it in 2016 and I thought it was great.

But if you look at its Goodreads page, half of the ratings are 5 stars and the other half are 1 star. A bunch of people hate it basically because they hate Holden – well, everyone kind of hates Holden, but he hates himself too so that’s kind of the point and for me, it didn’t make the book any less good.

I’ve also read some reviews where even if they understand they’re supposed to hate Holden, they just don’t like the book. And I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion, so I respect it even if I don’t agree.

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

allegiant

According to Goodreads, not as many people as I expected love this book. Scrolling down, most reviews were 1 star and there was literally only one 5 star review. See for yourself.

I didn’t like it. Divergent was great. Insurgent was okay. But I barely managed to finish this one. It just didn’t do it for me. And if you click on the link on the previous paragraph, you’ll see that lots of people agree with me.

But there were also lots of readers that thought it was a brilliant conclusion! These are people that really fell in love with Tris and Four and decided to stick with them through thick and thin, I think. But I couldn’t. So if I had to review it, I’d give it 1.5 or 2 stars.

3. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

twiI have not read this book. For starters, when it came out I was like 5 and as I grew it never caught my attention – vampires not being really my thing.

Most reviews on Goodreads are bad. But it’s a huge bestseller, so clearly not everyone hates it. For example, while my best friend agrees that Bella is everything a female main character shouldn’t be, she likes the book! And she’s actually well read. And if this many teenage girls like it well hey, it must have something good.

 

 

4. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

stars

You can slap John Green’s name on anything and that makes me immediately want to read it. But The Fault in Our Stars isn’t exactly my favorite book of his.

Look, I get it. It’s beautiful and painful. But Hazel and Augustus just seemed like every character in a John Green novel: exaggeratedly wise beyond their years. And it was even worse than in the other ones.

I had fun reading it. But I don’t like it that much. Plus, it was ruined after it became a trend and girls from my school started saying “TFIOS is my favorite book” without having read it.

 

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Okay, so not that many people hate this book – it has the highest rating out of all the books in this list (4.14/5). But the ones who do hate it… Oh boy. I have read some BIG rants on its Goodreads page.

An example of the division: a lot of people skipped the Simon Snow parts but I thought they were funny and interesting. I liked Cath so I cared about her fanfiction. I don’t know.

Some people hate the fluffy love stories in Rainbow Rowell books, but I personally think they’re cute and not overhyped like a lot of reviews say. I love a refreshing sweet romance once in a while!


Now, let’s talk! What books did or would you include in your list? What did you think of the ones I put? Do you participate in Top 5 Wednesday? Let me know below!

4 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite Polarizing Books”

  1. Oh how I love T5W! Gives you so much room for discussion. So, unfortunately, I hopped on the “I can’t stand The Catcher in The Rye” train from the very first time I read it. Then after the second time, then after my third and final attempt to connect with this book. Instead, I hated it even more. I just can’t get what is there to like about it but again, everyone likes a different color of rainbow!
    As for TFIOS, I really loved it for a while. However, I guess the older I got, the more my reading taste changed, and I saw all the flaws of the novel. I have this sort of love/hate relationship with it.
    Also, I still love Twilight. Even though I can clearly see how flawed it is, I still love it. Can’t explain that weird affection but definitely can’t get rid of it ahahah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I kind of like Catcher in the Rye! But I’ve only read it once so I don’t know haha.

      I have the same relationship with TFIOS because even though it was a good read it has so many flaws and Hazel and Gus are just like every other Green character, basically.

      And as for Twilight, my bestie agrees with you completely! I haven’t read it, but she says that it’s hard not to like it haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

