review

The Last Star (The Fifth Wave, #3) – Review

The Last Star by Rick Yancey16131489

338 pages

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers (May 2016)

Science Fiction, Young Adult

“Lost, found, and all was light.”


Synopsis

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Review

(Don’t worry, the quote I wrote up there is in no way a spoiler: you don’t know what it’s about, I just thought it was fitting since it’s the last book in the series.)

(But this review will definitely include spoilers for the last two books).

I have waited so long for this.

I fell in love with The Fifth Wave. Though less, I enjoyed The Infinite Sea very much. The Last Star’s blurb promised to be the brilliant, surprising conclusion to one of my favorite series.

And yes, I ended up loving it. Maybe because I believe in the series too much to let myself be disappointed. But that doesn’t take away the fact that I had a lot of fun – and a lot of feelings! – reading this book.

Let’s see; after a one-page intro (like in The Infinite Sea‘s “child in the wheat”), we start with a priest who managed to survive the Other’s first four waves and is now part of a traveling group living in the Ohio caverns Zombie and Ringer agreed to meet at in The Infinite Sea. This lasts for about ten pages during which there was an incessant screaming in my head that said “WHERE’S RINGER”, but it was actually kind of interesting? There’s this quote that makes more sense in the context but which I really loved.

“Even your biggest church-bashing atheist has faith in that. Life will go on.”

Then (yas!) we go over to Ringer’s POV and basically we discover her main task in this book, which isn’t really shocking, but will definitely add tension!

Vosch wants to figure out what went wrong with Evan Walker for him to fall in love with Cassie, and to do this she sends Ringer with this other woman called Constance. By now, Ringer has found out that the Silencers are not really Others, and she tries to explain this to a bunch of people who refuse to believe it, which I think is obvious (if this is true, they aren’t going to be rescued!) but also really interesting.

Also, there’s this one explanation that I really liked about just how masterful the Others’ plan is – the one thing I didn’t get was what the Others were trying to do: save the humans? Destroy the humans? I need to reread this.

Okay, I’m getting off topic, my point was that Ringer explained that since in the 4th wave you couldn’t trust that people were still people, there was no trust therefore no cooperation, thus no progress at all: the last step in knocking the human race back into the Neolithic, now that they had to hunt for food. The death of all civilization, and the barrier before the beginning of a new one. I loved this.

One thing I didn’t like about Ringer’s parts was this one bomb that she dropped on us in the middle of the book and then there was no mentioning of it until like 100 pages later? If you’ve read the book you know what I’m talking about. This really got on my nerves, but it doesn’t affect the rating much because it’s a minor detail.

With Cassie, it was very interesting to see that motif that keeps repeating throughout the three books: I am humanity. I think it all wraps up very nicely, and even though I expected many of the plot twists and bad things that happened, I was still very emotional, saying goodbye to the characters I’ve grown to love so much.

Zombie is just the dad of the group and I kind of love that. He was still interesting in this book, even if it wasn’t that focused on him. This one is basically Cassie’s redemption: I forgive her for how rude and boring she was in the last one. Even if her relationship with Evan was ridiculous in this book.

I don’t want to feel like it’s over – I was left with a feeling that told me there was more… And there isn’t more.

Rating

4 stars

Conclusion

In my system, 4 stars means I’d recommend it. I just don’t think you can read the first two books and then give up! The Infinite Sea was a bit slow, but I think it was worth it to get to this one.

If you’ve read this book, definitely hit me up on Instagram (@mayaheartsbooks) and we can discuss it! I really need to, it’s left me in shreds.

1 thought on “The Last Star (The Fifth Wave, #3) – Review”

Leave a Reply

