review

Cinder – Review

Cinder by Marissa Meyer11235712

395 pages

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Retelling, Young Adult, Science Fiction

“Even in the future the story begins with once upon a time.”


Synopsis

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Review

The Lunar Chronicles had been on my to-read list for years now, and a few months ago I actually read this first book. I’m just starting the second book right now!

But let’s talk about Cinder.

For me, it was an enjoyable read, but not really worth highlighting. Let me just start by saying that I absolutely love the idea of a cyborg Cinderella! I also really like how this book is complex and the author included a lot of other secondary plotlines, instead of just talking about Cinder, which wouldn’t have been as interesting. You have Queen Levana, you have the plague, you have the cyborg draft…

But this book is missing pages, I’m sure of it. I would have loved to know more about the Lunars and/or the cyborg people. I mean, the Lunars are just so interesting. They’re one of the reasons why I’m going to keep reading this series. They can manipulate people’s minds, they have an awesome evil queen. I hope I’ll see more of them.

And the cyborgs? I don’t understand why they are treated as if they are less than normal humans. They are literally super-humans. They used to be normal, but now they have been enhanced (I don’t know how else to say it). Like, I don’t understand why they were saved, why the scientists put that much money and work into them just for them to end up serving a household.

Now on to the things I don’t like. Meyer’s oh-so-subtle foreshadowing almost made me put down the book. Did she mean to make it that obvious? I’ll admit that I don’t know how she could have made it less obvious, but her skills were lacking in that department. Apart from that, we’re good on the writing part.

Also, some of the secondary characters could have been less plain.  Prince Kai isn’t swoony. He’s boring. He’s a typical YA male lead, tall, mysterious and handsome. Peony is too adorable. I don’t think there’s a 14 year old girl in the world who’s that nice and especially not one raised to hate cyborgs like Cinder.

But Cinder was an interesting narrator, and I did like being inside her mind. I can’t wait to see more of her, even if I think the other books won’t be in her POV.

Rating

3 stars

Conclusion

An easy YA read most bookworms will enjoy. I think most readers will find themselves wanting to read more. For me it was because of the setting, surprisingly!

A bit predictable, but I think it wasn’t bad. I hope you’ll read my reviews as I move along the series, and share your thoughts on them with me.

 

1 thought on “Cinder – Review”

Leave a Reply

