review

Me Before You – Review

Me Before You by Jojo Moyescover-jpg-rendition-460-707

369 pages

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Fiction, Romance

“Push yourself. Don’t settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”


Synopsis

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Review

(Disclaimer: I’m completely able-bodied. I’m sorry if I don’t have my facts right or offend anyone by talking about the disability in this book. Please call me out if I do!)

Okay. I went into this book promising myself I wouldn’t cry. Maybe this means I have no heart, but I didn’t.

I loved it, though! Moyes sure knows how to tell a story, and even though I read a translation of the book, it was obvious that the essence of her writing hadn’t been lost.

Let’s talk plotline. At first glance, it seems cliché, boring, touching the limits of offensive towards disabled people. But I can see why it’s a bestseller. It flows easily and you find yourself reading chapter after chapter, losing track of time.

Some of the characters are actually very interesting. I don’t know why, but this surprised me. I’ll try to summarize what caught my attention the most about each one.

Lou – She literally does now know what she’s doing. She’s a mess and does not know the first thing about taking care of a disabled person, yet the Traynors hire her, which makes no sense as you first read it, but a reveal at the end tells you why (kind of). I have a hard time admitting it but she is kind of likable.

Will – Funny, complex, smart, does not deserve all that’s happened to him. I don’t think he’s selfish, even if every other character thinks he is.

Nathan – He seems interesting. We don’t know much about him but I’d like to find out more. I think that’s a great thing and further proof of the author’s talent.

Treena – I would totally read a novella about her. She’s just a girl who has a kid and is trying to get through college, but I love her so much even if she’s kind of an ass?

As I said, the pace is really good and I kind of want to read the sequel, which I’ve been told will disappoint me, but I’ll read it anyway because I need more Treena haha.

Rating

4 stars

Conclusion

It’s cute, it’s funny, you’ll probably love it. It didn’t turn me into a blubbering mess, but it might work for you! Definitely would recommend, even if it won’t make it to my all-time favorites.

Yo antes de ti (Yo antes de ti #1)Yo antes de ti by Jojo Moyes

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

