review

All I Know Now – Review

9781615192946-us-300All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

322 pages

Publisher: The Experiment

Non-fiction, Young Adult

“People are people. Ever changing, complicated and wonderfully layered.” 


Synopsis

Today, Carrie Hope Fletcher is living her dream as an actress and YouTube star. But not long ago, she was trying to survive the many perils of the Teen Age…

Thankfully, she made it through! And although memories of her struggles, woes, and foibles stick around (as Soul Shrapnel, if you will), they look a little different today, thanks to The Amazing Goggles of Hindsight.

So, in All I Know Now, Carrie shares, well, exactly that – heartfelt advice and hopeful thoughts on growing up. She just did it herself. She has the stuffed animals to prove it!

(from the back cover of the US paperback)

Review

I came across this book in a bookstore while I was on a trip to the USA. I’d watched a few of Carrie’s videos on YouTube. I’d seen some posts about her floating around on Tumblr – about her role as Eponine, about her new book, On The Other Side – and I decided that a non-fiction book would be a good addition to my shelves! Especially one written by a successful musical theatre actress, which is everything I aspire to be.

I’m not going to lie. You’ve heard the advice in this book a million times. Be yourself, fight for your dreams, blah, blah, blah. While reading it, I felt like I was waiting for something to happen and turn this sorta good book into one of my absolute favorites.

But it didn’t happen, for some reason. It was just okay.

However, it was my first attempt at reading a biography/advice book, and I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into, so I expected something grand and it just didn’t deliver.

It’s not a bad book. It’s funny at times. It helped me get through a long flight. It can give you confidence in yourself. It’s fun to highlight the quotes that inspire you the most.

I look forward to reading (and reviewing!) Fletcher’s fiction book.

Rating

3 stars

Conclusion

If you’re expecting something life-changing, look somewhere else. But if you want a read that will make you feel light and spark happiness inside you, this is perfect!

All I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up GracefullyAll I Know Now: Wonderings and Reflections on Growing Up Gracefully by Carrie Hope Fletcher

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

1 thought on “All I Know Now – Review”

Leave a Reply

